The Academy of Health-System Pharmacists (AHP) was formed to ensure that the current and future interests of health-system pharmacists are being promoted, represented, and recognized at the state level as well as within the parent organization, the Colorado Pharmacists Society (CPS). Our academy is a state affiliate of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), so we have the benefit of ASHP national support in addition to CPS local support.

You may be asking yourself, “What does ‘health-system pharmacy’ mean?” In 1995, ASHP expanded their focus beyond hospital pharmacy to include ambulatory and home care providers as they recognized the changing landscape of pharmacy services. Since then, ASHP has continued to grow to a 35,000 member organization that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other aspects of health care systems. ASHP now has member sections for:

  • Ambulatory Care Practitioners
  • Clinical Specialists and Scientists
  • Inpatient Care Practitioners
  • Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
  • Pharmacy Practice Managers
  • Specialty Pharmacy Practitioners

Similar to ASHP, our academy serves the interests of all health-system pharmacists in Colorado. We provide great opportunities to get involved with Pharmacy at a local and/or national level, depending on where your interests lie. Our academy is also very open to new ideas for how we can better serve our members. Some of the benefits of joining our academy include:

  • Professional development through CE programs and informal education opportunities
  • Local networking to meet people and share best practices
  • ASHP policy input in the House of Delegates (3 delegates for Colorado)
  • Social events

If you are interested in learning more about AHP, please contact:

Executive Team 2020-2021


  • Colorado Representatives - ASHP House of Delegates 2020-2021